šŸ”“ Executive Offense Issue #8 - What I'm Doing Next

Introducing Arcanum Information Security

EO is a security newsletter that focuses on the intersection between offensive security and security strategy. Sometimes hacker-ish, sometimes CISO-ish. Very blazer over the t-shirt type of vibeā€¦

In this week's newsletter, I'm excited to share an update about the next chapter in my career. (Next week will be Mobile Hacking pt 2.)Ā 

As some of you know, I recently hit a year with BuddoBot, contributing to their advancement in adversarial emulation and red teaming services. It was remarkable. The team there is stellar, and we had some amazing times building out the capabilities. I am excited to see where the expanded engineering team take them, as I remain good friends with them all. My sincere thank you to BuddoBot for all the support in 2023. Big Love.

Howeverā€¦ a constant presence in my thoughts, fueled by conversations with close friends like Daniel Miessler, has been how passionate I am for teaching.

Over the last year, I transformed what was originally a standalone training, delivered exclusively at conferences, into a live class. This class exceeded all my expectations in terms of quality and reception. Buoyed by this success, I launched a second class, which, to my delight, also surpassed my expectations.

After extensive discussions with friends and my colleagues, I've decided to embark on an independent venture.

I'm proud to announce the creation of my own company, Arcanum Information Security.

Arcanum Information Security will specialize in training and consulting within the cybersecurity realm. Our flagship training, 'The Bug Hunters Methodology Live,' is constantly updated, and our second training, 'Hacking Your Brand,' will be re-offered this year. We're also developing exciting new trainings for 2024 in the space of practical AI, Red Teaming, Introductions to Pentesting, Security Leadership, and more. Follow us on Twitter/X.
Ā 

In addition to running Arcanum Information Security, I'm drawing inspiration from other content creators and trainers in our field, particularly Daniel Miesslerā€™s blog, "What I'm Doing and How Itā€™s Going"

My focus will be predominantly on Arcanum ā€“ about 70% of my time will be dedicated to consulting, research, marketing, and training.

I'll also be exploring retainer and advisory roles which will utilize 10%-15% of my time. Iā€™ve been blessed to work in all facets of the security business so this could be things like product development assistance, vCISO work, high powered SE work, marketing and branding consultation, etc. These opportunities will allow me to maintain insurance and collaborate with companies I admire.

Moreover, I plan to continue producing free content through this newsletter and various social media channels. I will be revamping my Discord community as well. I have a ton of ideas for 2024, and I'm thrilled to work on projects that truly excite me. Additionally, you'll still see me speaking and training on the conference circuit.

I'll be writing a Part 2 of this post once I've solidified Arcanum's branding and marketing plan and our schedule for 2024. We are still ā€œunder constructionā€ šŸ˜€Ā 

None of this would be possible without my incredible working partner and CFO, my wife Julia, and the unwavering support of my friends and family.

If you're interested in custom app security or offensive security training, please explore 'The Bug Hunterā€™s Ā Methodology Live' or contact us at Arcanum Information Security. For those seeking penetration testing or cutting-edge attack surface management, consider our services at Arcanum.

Finally, I want to extend a heartfelt thank you to all of you. Your encouragement in classes, comments, and casual conversations at conferences has been invaluable. I am deeply grateful for your support ā€“ past, present, and future.

Happy Hacking,